WESTERN TECHNICAL COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD Minutes of Annual Organizational Meeting July 11, 2022

Mr. Ken Peterson, District Board Interim Chair, called the organizational meeting of the Board of Western Technical College District to order at 1:00pm on Monday, July 11, 2022, at the Western Technical College Administrative Center, 111 Seventh Street N, La Crosse, Wl. Board members present: Lance Bagstad, Kevin Hennessey, Ed Lukasek, Angie Lawrence, Ken Peterson, Andrew Bosshard, Jim Dillin, Michelle Greendeer-Rave and Roger Stanford, President. Member present via zoom: Majel Hein.

Notice of the meeting was posted publicly on Friday, July 8, 2022, at 7:07am with the agenda being distributed to interested persons, sent to the District's official newspaper (The La Crosse Tribune), and distributed to other news media throughout the District in compliance with Wisconsin Statutes, Sections 19.81 through 19.98.

Others present: Wade Hackbarth, Janice Strupp, Mike Swenson, John Heath, Tracy Dryden, Amy Thornton, Josh Gamer, Jerry Miller, Rebecca Hopkins, Nicole Cooksey, Amy Fuchsteiner, Juan Jimenez (Western employees)

Mr. Peterson administered the oath of office to newly appointed member Michelle Greendeer-Rave and reappointed member Angie Lawrence who were appointed to serve 3-year terms beginning July 1, 2022, and ending June 30, 2025. Mr. Peterson administered the oath of office to newly appointed member Jim Dillin who was appointed to serve a 2-year term beginning July 1, 2022 and ending June 30, 2024. Ms. Hein, Secretary, administered the oath of office to reappointed member Ken Peterson to serve another 3-year term beginning July 1, 2022, and ending June 30, 2025. Signatures were obtained from Board members affirming their understanding and compliance to Policy A0106-Oath of Office and Code of Ethics for the District Board.

Angie Lawrence nominated Ken Peterson for the position of District Board Chairperson, seconded by Andrew Boshard. Motion Bagstad, second Bosshard to close nominations and cast unanimous vote. Ayes, 9; Opposed 0. Mr. Peterson was appointed as District Board Chairperson.

Angie Lawrence nominated Michelle Greendeer-Rave for the position of District Board Vice Chairperson. Motion Lawrence, second Bagstad to close nominations and cast unanimous vote. Ayes, 9; Opposed. 0. Ms. Greendeer-Rave was appointed as District Board Vice Chairperson.

Ken Peterson nominated Majel Hein to the position of District Board Secretary, seconded by Andrew Bosshard. Motion to close nominations by Angie Lawrence, seconded by Bagstad to cast unanimous ballot. Ayes, 9; Opposed 0. Ms. Hein appointed as Secretary.

Majel Hein nominated Ed Lukasek to the position of District Board Treasurer, seconded by Lawrence. Motion Lawrence, second Peterson to close nominations and cast unanimous ballot. Mr. Lukasek was appointed as District Board Treasurer.

Motion Lawrence, second Bagstad that the Western Technical College District Board adopt resolution of commendation recognizing Lab Midwest for their commitment to Western and the Wisconsin Technical College System. Votes: Ayes, 9, Opposed, 0. Motion carried.

Presentations: WLDI Graduates, Program Service Highlight | 7-week, regional learning centers and president updates.

Motion Hennessey, second Lukasek that the Western Technical College District Board approve the following consent items as presented: A. June 21, 2022, District Board Meeting Minutes; B. Financial Reports – June 2022 – 1. Schedule of Payments; 2. Vendors Over \$2500; 3. Capital Projects Reports; C. Policy Discontinuance | Second Reading – 1. A0125 Board Procurement Policy; 2. A0202 Code of Ethics for College President; D. New Program Development | Concept Review - Data Analytics Specialist Associate Degree; and E. Project Submission and Acceptance - Workforce Advancement Training Grants FY2022. Votes: Ayes, 9, Opposed, 0. Abstention to Vendors over \$2500, 1. Motion carried.

Motion Lawrence, second Bagstad to approve the following: A. Western Technical College District Board designate the District Board's meeting dates, times, and locations for 2022-2023 as listed subject to change as needed; B. designate District's attorneys for 2022-23; C. designate the District's public finance advisor for 2022-2023; D. designate the La Crosse Tribune as the District's official newspaper for 2022-2023; E. adopt resolution designating District's public depositories throughout the District for 2022-23. Votes: Ayes, 9; Opposed, 0. Motion carried.

Under the President's Report, the District Board was reminded that Western is hosting the WTCS Board meeting July 12-13 in the Lunda Center; advised that the Western organizational chart is in process of being updated; thanked Amy Thornton for her leadership during current transitions; and an update was provided on a conditional use permit.

During the District Board Chairperson report, Mr. Peterson reminded members of the July 21-23 District Boards Association meeting and advised the District Board annual calendar is being updated.

4:46pm: Motion Lukasek, second Bagstad that the Western Technical College District Board adjourn. Votes: Ayes, 9; Opposed, 0. Motion carried.

Majel Hein, District Board Secretary